Letters to My Friends

College has taught me a lot about who my friends are. Once you graduate high school, you lose contact with…well, everyone who decided you weren’t worth talking to anymore. I admit, I did it too. So, this post is directed towards the people who I still talk to. NO, I DID NOT GO TO HIGH SCHOOL WITH ALL OF THEM.

KATIE: Katie, Katie, Katie. We’ve been friends since sixth grade. You’re one of the only people I can go to with anything. You know me better than anyone else. Whenever something happens, my first thought is “oh, I have to tell Katie!” Thank you for sitting on the phone with me for five hours at a time, listening to me rant about life. Even if you couldn’t care less about what I’m talking about, you’ll always listen. I’m so glad we’re friends. Without you, I’d probably be in jail. You’re one of the few people I talk to every day.  Never change. You’re smart, funny, beautiful, insane, kind, and overall a wonderful human being. YOU MAH NUMERO UNO, KERTER.

Jenna and Katie

I believe this was when we were making pancakes. Ya never know with me and Katie.

SARA: Sara. My wife. I couldn’t deny this if I tried: our relationship took a hit in college. You moved two hours away, I stayed home. We’re both so busy, sometimes it’s hard to just send a text and check in. We both have our own lives now, we’re not spending every single day together anymore. That being said, you’re still high on my list. You’re the only person who understands my obsessions, even if you don’t like them yourself, you get it. I’d be lying if I said I don’t miss you. You’re “#1”, don’t forget that, Turk.

Jenna Sara Isaac

Sara, me, and Isaac after my and Sara’s graduation. Yes, Isaac brought pizza.

ALYSSA: SENSEI! College is rough. I was so used to spending every lunch period with you, sitting at the exact same table every single day from sixth to twelfth grade. Then, BOOM. We graduated, and even though we go to the same college, we don’t spend every single day together anymore. You’re at a different campus; I’m lucky if I see you once a month nowadays. I know we don’t talk much anymore, but you’re still on the list of my best friends. Just know this: You got me through middle and high school. I truly would not have made it through without you. Thank you. 

Jenna and Alyssa

Well…This was 2012. Nuf said.

 

ERA: Oh, Era. You wonderful little thing, you. I know we met three weeks before graduating high school, and never really spoke after that, but guess what? You’re the reason why I got through my first semester of college. I’m so glad I met you. You’re one of my best friends now. Thank you for putting up with my insanity daily. Thank you for following me to my mom’s office and overall being weird with me. I know you stress about school a lot, but guess what? You’re doing a great job, and I promise you, you will be a great doctor. Med school is going to be rough, but I promise you, I’ll be there cheering you on through the entire thing. Thank you for encouraging me to do what I love, even if I don’t think I’m good enough for it. I probably would have dropped out of college had you not been by my side this semester, running around the Children’s Museum with me.

Jenna and Era

Don’t hate me, Era. This was the only picture of us I have.

ARI: MOM! I friggin’ love you, Mom. I’m so glad we got to know each other, even if I met you through Twitter. You’re an absolutely incredible human. I worship you. You’re a phenomenal friend. You make me laugh so hard every single day. I’m so beyond lucky to have you in my life. NEVER CHANGE. I know your letter is short, but I don’t want to drag on forever about how incredible you are. You know you’re incredible, you don’t need me to tell you.

5sos show

5 Seconds of Summer concert! FROM LEFT TO RIGHT: Erin, Brynn, me, Celeste, Ari

BRYNN: BRYNN! There’s so much I could say about you. You’re so much more than my cousin. You’re the group chat Mom, you’re a phenomenal singer, you’re an incredible person, and you’re someone I look up to. I’m so lucky to have you to tell me when I’m being stupid. Thank you for showing me the ropes and teaching me what it means to be a good person. I know you’re living overseas now –cue obnoxious sobbing– but I know it’s going to be an absolutely incredible experience for you. I’m so proud of you. I promise I’ll message you soon. Godspeed, my friend.

Jenna and Brynn

I guess Brynn and I went on a slide with Uncle Neal as infants. Go figure.

And, of course…

ERIN: WHAT UP, BEEF WELLINGTON? Erin, you are such a wonderful person and cousin, never forget that. I’m so lucky that I’ve been able to grow up with you and watch you become the incredible young woman you are. You’re my best friend, my therapist, my partner in crime, and so much more. I know you’re worried about going to college next year, but I PROMISE YOU, you will be just fine. You know if you ever need me, I don’t care if it’s three in the morning, I will be there for you 150%. Never forget that.

DSC_0083

Erin got cast in her first play last year, so naturally I went.

I figured if I write to EVERYONE, this post would be 10,000 words, so welcome to the Honorable Mentions category, who I didn’t have time to write letters for.

HONORABLE MENTIONS

  • RYLEE
  • JENNIE
  • OLIVIA
  • CRYSTAL
  • AMANDA
  • ALLI
  • ISAAC
  • BELA
  • TATIANA
  • KATE
  • ANGIE

Always remember, squadlings. Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer.

That was a joke.

Leave a comment